Meet the faces of credit unions in Wales!

Last week we launched our ‘Front of the queue’ campaign, encouraging Welsh borrowers and savers to use their local credit union. To help us, members from across Wales shared their stories about how their local credit union helped them!

One of these was 45-year-old Mark Williams from Treharris. Mark turned to a credit union when the former lorry driver fell six feet from a 38-tonne truck. He struggled to make ends meet after his accident, which left him eligible for disability benefit and unable to work. Mark now suffers with pain in his right arm and back, and had to leave the job where he had worked six days a week for the past six years.

“I was a workaholic, so it was hard not having something to do every day,” he said. “I volunteer three days a week in the community cafe at Treharris Boys and Girls Club, so that keeps me busy, and keeps my depression in check. Being in a credit union puts my mind at rest that I’m not getting into trouble with money.”

Mark Williams 2

Mark joined Merthyr Tydfil Borough Credit Union in High Street shortly after his accident in 2011, and has since used the scheme to take out three loans.

“The rates are reasonable and there’s never any pressure to take out a loan you can’t afford. I’ve got into trouble with lenders in the past and have been in quite a lot of debt. With the credit union, I get to chat with somebody who can give me advice and since joining, I manage my money better. I never used to be the best with my finances, but I feel like I’m on track now. I’d recommend a credit union to anyone.”

Pupils at Trinant Primary School have also been helping us raise awareness of the benefits of saving with your local credit union. They have been saving with Islwyn Community Credit Union, which has seen an almost 100% rise in under-16s joining their Junior Savers club since it began its schools saving scheme a year ago.

The credit union, based on Wesley Road in Blackwood, runs saving clubs in five primary schools in the area, Markham, Trinant, Cefn Fforest, Fleur de Lis and Pengam. Youngsters from the five schools now save with a credit union every week, and at Trinant Primary, in the Caerphilly County Borough, the habit begins before they’re five-years-old.

L-R Macie Stokes, Tayah Alderson, teaching assistant Ingrid Kirke, Elliea Thomas

“When we started running the savings club, we made it open to everyone from reception age to year six,” said Ingrid Kirk, higher level teaching assistant at Trinant Primary.

“Pupils understand they’re putting a little money aside, just like their parents do. Most of the parents will give them a pound every few weeks so they can put it towards their fund, which is collected by an allocated ‘banker’ who goes around the classes.”

Has being a member of your local credit union benefitted you? Did it help you start up your own business, or perhaps fund a special occasion or holiday? Are you a student or recent graduate who is getting their finances back on track thanks to advice from the local credit union? Maybe you’ve been a credit union member all your life! We’d love to know, so please leave us a comment on our Facebook page!